Book Review: Pour Me A Life by A.A. Gill

Perhaps I thought this book about sobriety might be funny and clever because the author’s name is abbreviated to A.A., when he is called “Adrian” throughout the book.  On the other hand, I also thought it could be a sobering (pun may or may not have been intended) insight on how addiction affects a person.  A vast majority of us have at least encountered someone battling one addiction or another but how many of us have been the person struggling to overcome it?

Although I do commend the author for his bravery to be open and honest about his life, alcoholism, and even dyslexia, it just was not a book that kept my interest.  Now, I do not mean that in a cold-hearted sense.  I am not a reviewer that was scoffing at each page whilst directing my nose higher in the air with each page turned.  I am not discounting his experience at all.  It is the manner in which the book was put together that I was not altogether pleased with.  Instead of this being a book about drowning in alcohol and finding a way to breathe again, this book is instead a rambling monologue of memories patched together.

The author reveals that his own father published an autobiography before he passed.  In my opinion, this book felt more like an obligation  in order to achieve paternal approval (post-mortem)  rather than chronicling his journey to overcome addiction.

Struggling with dyslexia was something unexpected, however, it still did not seem to be enough to hold my interest.  It felt like I sat next to someone on the subway who gave me random pieces of his life story.  It was disappointing, to say the least.

For those who may be sensitive: there are themes of addiction, alcoholism, open marriages, and foul language.

Please note: a copy of this book was generously provided through the Penguin Random House First To Read program in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

