My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella’s-5/5 star review!

Katie (“Cat”) Brenner is a country bumpkin trying to find herself in the big City, London. She has a decent job at Cooper Clemmow with the hopes of moving up in the company now that she has the foot in the door. 
Her boss, Demeter, has everything that Cat wants: great job, great house, great husband, and great kids. What is actual perfection and what is an illusion? 
I have read almost all of Sophie Kinsella’s standalone books, with the only exception being Finding Audrey. I get excited for each new release because I know it is going to take me right to my happy place. The same applies for My (Not So) Perfect Life. I forced myself to slow down reading this book because I wanted to savor it. It was romantic, a bit silly at times, and yet there was a lot of character development amongst multiple characters. It gets deep yet some characters are shallow. There are misconceptions that get out of hand yet there is empathy. It is modern yet It comes back to the age-old question: is the grass always greener on the other side? 
I highly recommend this book, as well as Sophie Kinsella’s other books, for anyone looking for a relatable and humorous light read. 
I would not recommend this book for any reader that is offended by foul language, bullying, or sexually suggestive scenarios. 
Please note: an electronic copy of this book was generously provided by the publisher via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

