The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman-a 1/5 Review!

Irene was born into the Librarian life. Her parents were librarians and she strives to rise in the ranks despite not being able to see her parents often. Kai is an apprentice of The Library, and has been involved for 5 years but has yet become an official Librarian. A former petty criminal, he fell into the Library and has since decided to dedicate his life. On one special mission Kai is assigned to train under Irene. Two different personalities from two very different backgrounds, can they work together to complete the mission?

DNF at 34%. I did not care for this book because it would be somewhat engaging then it would snap back into something boring. An example of this is the whole section where Kai is explained the workings of The Library and it felt like the book stalled just to explain everything instead of throwing in bits and pieces as they go along. There was a lot of detail defining chaos although I did not feel like I fully understood it.

Another reason why I did not finish the book is because I felt like it threw too many concepts into one plot. For example: there is a scene where Irene and Kai are one-upping each other on how many sexual partners they have had as they debate whether or not the two of them should have sex. It felt flat and shallow as it was just something to add to exist in the story and not something of importance.

It seemed pretty obvious from the beginning that there was something off about a “helpful” character. Since I have not read the rest of the book, I will leave it at that as I do not want to accidentally spoil anything.

I did not enjoy this book, however, I could see fans who love time travel and steampunk liking it. It did not stir any emotions in me and felt like a chore to read so I am putting it down. This was a selection for a book club that I am in and I picked it up from the library. I hope whoever gets it next has a better experience with it than I did!

Leave a Reply

