A Thousand Heartbeats by Kiera Cass – a 4/5 Star Review!

Annika is a princess of a kingdom, Lennox is the unofficial leader of a band of misfits fighting to get their stolen kingdom back. A hurricane binds them together but can they bring peace to both of their people?

This is my first time reading a book by Kiera Cass but I do not think it will be the last! It is definitely YA as there is minimal heat to the romance that adult readers may seek. However, do be warned that there is a lot of violence, murder, and war. There is a theme of unrequited love in three separate cases which was distracting at times but I believe used to create red herrings for who the betrayer will be. I enjoyed the prevailing theme of the importance of libraries to document history, whether it is accurate descriptions or folklore. Trigger warning: if you have a parent with a mental illness or have suffered from parental loss, there is heavy mention of both in this book which may be upsetting to some.

I did appreciate the plot twist at the end of who the betrayer ended up being and it was very different from who I was convinced was the traitor. I took away a star from the rating due to there was a lot of fluff in the book and it could have been condensed without taking away from the main plot action. Without spoiling anything, another reason the star was taken away because of what happened to a beloved and innocent character. I understand the action was not only to show how truly heinous the villain is but also to spark Lennox into the action necessary to bring about the resolution. I get it, I am just still upset about it – if you know, you know 🙂

Please note: an electronic ARC of this book was generously provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

Leave a comment